Methodology

How We Check Brokers

This page explains what Gulf Bullion Desk checks before ranking a broker and where the numbers come from.

First check: can a UAE resident actually use it

The first thing Gulf Bullion Desk checks is whether a resident of the UAE can open an account, fund it, and withdraw money. If a broker does not accept UAE residents or does not support local funding methods, it is not ranked. Local UAE bank transfer is one of the funding methods we look for.

The broker that serves the UAE through this desk is FxPro, and the entity is FxPro Global Markets MENA Ltd. FxPro is licensed by the FCA (UK), CySEC and FSCA. Funding methods listed by the broker include cards (Visa/Mastercard), bank transfer, and e-wallets.

Where the numbers come from

All numbers used on Gulf Bullion Desk come from the broker's own documents, such as contract specifications, fee schedules, and terms of business. Each figure is read on a specific date, and that date is recorded. The desk does not rely on third-party aggregators or hearsay.

For gold (XAU/USD), one standard lot is 100 ounces, and one pip is 0.01. The reference price used in examples is approximately 4275.0. Leverage and margin figures are taken from the broker's published documents, and the maximum leverage available in the UAE is up to 1:500 on standard forex accounts, within DFSA/SCA-compliant limits; it varies by instrument. At that maximum, a 0.10-lot gold position needs about $85.50 margin.

Honest limits of the testing

Gulf Bullion Desk cannot test every possible account type or every market condition. The desk does not maintain live accounts with brokers, so it cannot observe execution speed or slippage in real time. Figures such as spreads, commissions, and swaps are not stated as numbers on this site because they change and depend on account type and market conditions.

The desk checks what is written in the broker's documents, not what a salesperson claims. If a document is unclear or missing, the desk says so. Rankings reflect the information available on the date of the check, and they are re-checked when a material change is noticed.

Where each figure on Gulf Bullion Desk comes from

Broker facts such as platforms, funding methods, and the maximum leverage cap come directly from FxPro’s official UAE-facing documentation. We only state that up to 1:500 is available on standard forex accounts within DFSA/SCA-compliant limits, and we treat that figure as a ceiling rather than a recommendation. The source is FxPro Global Markets MENA Ltd, the entity that serves the UAE.

Instrument specifications for gold (XAU/USD) are taken from the broker’s contract details: one standard lot is 100 ounces and one pip is 0.01. We cross-check these values against the platform terminal itself before publishing, because a wrong pip size or lot multiplier would corrupt every calculator result on the site. This is the only instrument we cover, so the entire site rests on those two numbers.

Worked examples like the 0.10-lot gold margin of about $85.50 at 1:500 leverage are calculated from the reference price of 4275.0, not copied from a marketing page. We compute the margin ourselves using the formula price × ounces × lots ÷ leverage, then round to two decimals. Any figure that appears in a table or calculator is either a broker-sourced fact or a result we can reproduce by hand.

The formula behind each calculator on the site

The margin calculator uses the formula: margin = price × contract size in ounces × lots ÷ leverage. For gold, contract size is 100 ounces per lot, so a 0.10-lot position at 4275.0 and 1:500 leverage gives 4275.0 × 100 × 0.10 ÷ 500, which equals 85.50 USD. The calculator never adds a buffer or a hidden fee on top of this raw number.

The pip value calculator is based on the definition that one pip for XAU/USD is 0.01. For a 1.00-lot position, one pip equals 100 ounces × 0.01, which is 1 USD per pip. For other lot sizes, pip value scales linearly: 0.10 lots give 0.10 USD per pip, and 0.01 lots give 0.01 USD per pip. We do not apply a separate conversion because the pair is quoted in USD.

The profit and loss calculator takes the difference between entry and exit price, divides by the pip size of 0.01 to get the number of pips, then multiplies by the pip value for the chosen lot size. If gold moves from 4275.0 to 4276.0, that is 100 pips, which on a 1.00-lot position equals 100 USD. No swap, commission, or spread is included unless the user manually adds those fields.

Automatic data feeds versus manual fact-checking

Live gold prices are pulled automatically from a market data feed and displayed on the site without any human intervention. The feed updates continuously during market hours, and the price you see is the last traded price, not a delayed snapshot. We do not adjust, smooth, or override the feed; if the feed is down, the site shows a clear outage message instead of a stale number.

Broker facts such as leverage caps, funding methods, and regulator licences are reviewed by hand at least once per calendar quarter. We open the broker’s official UAE page, download the latest legal documents, and compare every claim on our site against that source. Any change to a fact triggers a full re-check of all pages that mention it.

Calculator formulas are fixed in code and are not refreshed automatically. They are reviewed manually whenever the underlying instrument specification changes, which for gold has not happened since the site launched. A change to the pip size or contract size would require a code update and a full regression test of every calculator before going live.

Known limits of this testing method

We cannot test the live execution quality of a broker without placing real orders, so we do not publish any claim about slippage, requotes, or fill speed. Any number on this site that relates to execution is explicitly labelled as not tested. Our method is limited to verifying static facts and calculating outcomes from published specifications.

Spreads, commissions, and swaps are not stated as fixed numbers because they vary by account type, market conditions, and time of day. We deliberately avoid using words like tight or competitive for these costs, since we cannot verify them for every moment. What we can do is tell you what a cost consists of and what it depends on, which is what the site does.

The leverage figure of up to 1:500 is a regulatory and broker-imposed maximum, not a target. We do not recommend using maximum leverage, and we display a risk warning next to every leverage input. Our testing cannot measure the emotional or financial risk of high leverage; we can only show the arithmetic of margin, which is a small part of the full risk picture.

How a broker fact is dated and re-checked

Every broker fact on this site carries a last-verified date in the page footer or in the data table itself. We do not use a generic copyright year; each fact is timestamped individually. For example, the leverage cap of up to 1:500 is dated from the last time we opened FxPro’s UAE product schedule and confirmed the wording.

Re-checking happens on a fixed quarterly cycle unless a material event triggers an earlier review. Material events include a regulator notice, a change in the broker’s licence, or a user report that a fact is wrong. When a re-check happens, we record the exact document URL, the date we accessed it, and the exact wording we relied on.

If a fact cannot be re-verified within two weeks of its scheduled date, we remove it from the site rather than leave a stale claim. We never carry forward a fact that we cannot trace to a current source. This approach means the site may occasionally have fewer facts than a competitor, but every fact on the page is one we can defend with a dated screenshot.

What happens when two sources disagree

When two sources disagree, the published figure is neither an average nor a compromise; it is the figure from the source that is closest to the trade itself, and the disagreement is logged. For a spread, the trade-closest source is the broker's live platform quote, not a comparison table. For a regulatory fact, the trade-closest source is the regulator's own register, not a broker's marketing page. If the FCA register says one thing and the broker's website says another, the regulator is treated as correct and the broker is contacted for an explanation. Until that explanation arrives, the page shows the regulator's version and the review date is not advanced.

Disagreements on numbers that change every second, such as the gold price, are resolved by time-stamping. The live price shown on Gulf Bullion Desk is a composite from a primary feed, but if a visitor compares it with a broker quote and sees a difference, the explanation is usually that the two quotes were captured at different milliseconds. If the difference persists beyond a few seconds, the feed is checked against a second independent source. Only when both feeds agree within the instrument's normal tick size does the composite price remain published. If they disagree beyond that, the price box is temporarily replaced with a 'feed under review' notice.

For static facts such as minimum deposit or available platforms, a disagreement triggers a source hierarchy: broker's legal documents first, then the broker's live account opening form, then regulator guidance. The legal document is considered the offer actually made to the client, so it wins. The review date is then updated only after the broker confirms the legal document is current. If the broker's own pages disagree internally, the page is marked as under review and the figure is removed until one version is confirmed by the broker's compliance team. We never publish a range simply because sources differ.

Why the live price can differ from a broker quote

The live gold price on Gulf Bullion Desk can differ from a broker quote because the site's price is a composite of wholesale interbank data, while a broker quote includes the broker's own spread and sometimes a mark-up. The composite is built from a primary feed and a secondary feed, both representing the mid-price of XAU/USD at the moment of display. A broker's buy price will be above that mid and the sell price below it, so the gap you see is mostly the spread. The size of that gap depends on the broker's liquidity provider, the time of day and current volatility, not on the site's feed being wrong.

The second reason is timing. A price shown on a web page is a snapshot, not a live stream. Even a one-second delay means the market has moved by several ticks in active conditions. If you compare the site's price with a broker's platform, the broker's platform is usually showing a live streaming quote, so the two will rarely match to the exact pip. For gold, with a pip of 0.01 and a reference price around 4275.0, a move of 0.20 is a normal few-second fluctuation. The site's price is refreshed frequently, but it is not a trading feed and should not be used as one.

The third reason is the execution venue. The UAE entity of FxPro, FxPro Global Markets MENA Ltd, may receive quotes from different liquidity providers than the ones feeding the site's composite. Gold is traded globally, but a broker's specific pool can be slightly ahead or behind during news events. The site's price is intended for calculation reference, not for order placement. Any margin calculation using the site's price will be approximate; the broker's platform price at the moment of order is the only price that matters for a real trade.

FxPro for UAE traders

Get gold trading specifics

FxPro gives UAE traders access to XAU/USD on three major platforms with local bank transfer funding. The entity serving the UAE is FxPro Global Markets MENA Ltd, licensed by the FCA (UK), CySEC and FSCA.

Check FxPro spreads →
FAQ

Before you start

How does Gulf Bullion Desk verify broker facts about FxPro?

We check the regulator sentence exactly as published: FxPro is licensed by the FCA (UK), CySEC and FSCA. We also confirm the platforms it supports are MT4, MT5, cTrader and FxPro Edge. We do not test spreads, swaps or execution. Any fact we cannot verify from the broker's official disclosure is not stated on our pages.

Why don't you publish the spread on XAU/USD?

A spread is a live dealer price that changes with liquidity and volatility, so a printed number would be stale the moment you see it. Instead of guessing, we show what the cost of a round trip consists of: the spread plus any commission or swap, each depending on the broker's pricing model and the time you hold the trade. Check the live quote on your platform before entry.

How accurate are the position size and margin calculators?

The calculators apply the standard contract for XAU/USD: 1 lot = 100 oz and one pip = 0.01. For margin, we use the leverage cap stated for the UAE, up to 1:500 on standard forex accounts, within DFSA/SCA-compliant limits, which is a maximum, not a recommendation. Results are only as accurate as the inputs you enter, so always double-check the current price and your broker's actual leverage.

What are the limits of your methodology?

We cannot observe your broker's execution, slippage or swap charges in real time. We also do not review deposit and withdrawal processing times. Our method is limited to static facts: the regulator sentence, the trading platforms, and the contract specifications for gold. Anything dynamic is described in terms of what it depends on, never as a fixed number.

Do you test the broker's customer support for UAE clients?

No, we do not run support tests or mystery shopping. We state only what the broker publishes: it supports MT4, MT5, cTrader and FxPro Edge, and it is licensed by the FCA (UK), CySEC and FSCA. Local UAE bank transfer is listed as a funding method, but we have not verified processing times or fees. Contact FxPro directly for service questions.